Hockey Asian Champions trophy 2016

By Agency

Five years after they beat Pakistan in a penalty shootout to win their maiden title in 2011, India reclaimed the crown beating the same opponents 3-2 in regulation time on Sunday held in Malaysia.
 Apart from few lapses in the defense, the Indians beat the last two times champions, playing an attacking game, splitting Pakistan's defense on several occasions. India opened their account through Rupinder Pal Singh in the 18th minute who converted a penalty corner to hand them the lead. Five minutes later, Yousuf Affan capped off a wonderful play that involved Sardar Singh to double the lead. However, Pakistan cut down the lead to 2-1 by the close of the third quarter. Through Ali Shaan, Pakistan equalised in the 38th minute but Nikkin struck in a fabulous goal in the final quarter to score the winner.
Earlier hosts Malaysia defeated South Korea 3-1 on penalty shootout to take the third position, while China beat Japan 5-4 to capture fifth position in the sixth nations continental cup.