Changes in portfolios


In a major reshuffle in her cabinet, Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina on Wednesday reallocated the portfolios of a number of ministers and state ministers, and gave portfolios to three new ministers, aiming to infuse further dynamism into her administration.
Cabinet Secretary Shafiul Alam announced the changes in the cabinet at a meeting at the secretariat. A gazette notification was issued in this regard.
He said AKM Shahjahan Kamal, an MP from Laxmipur-3 constituency, replaced Rashed Khan Menon as Civil Aviation and Tourism Minister while Menon, , also Workers' Party Chairman, was given the charge of Social Welfare Ministry.
Anisul Islam Mahmud, who was Water Resources Minister, was given the responsibility of Environment and Forest Ministry.
Besides, Environment and Forest Minister Anwar Hossain Manju was made Water Resources Minister.
Meanwhile, State Minister for Posts and Telecommunications Tarana Halim was made State Minister for Information and IT expert Mustafa Jabbar, a new cabinet member, was made Posts, Telecommunications and Information and Technology Minister.
Narayon Chandra was made full minister from State Minister for Fisheries and Livestock.
Besides, Rajbari-1 MP Kazi Keramat Ali, who was sworn in as a state minister on Tuesday, was given the responsibility of Technical and Madrasha Education Division.
Meanwhile, Nuruzzaman Ahmed, who was earlier got the independent charge of the Social Welfare Ministry, was made the state minister of the same ministry.
Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina on Tuesday expanded   her cabinet inducting three new faces into it and promoting a State Minister to a full one.
They all took oath at Bangabhaban in the evening.    
 President Abdul Hamid administered oath to them at 6:30pm.
Of them, Narayon Chandra Chanda, AKM Shahjahan Kamal and IT expert Mustafa Jabbar were sworn in as ministers while Rajbari-1 MP Kazi Keramat Ali was sworn in as a state minister.