Prithvi Shaw set for Test debut in Rajkot; Mayank, Vihari left out

By Agency

Teenager Prithvi Shaw is set for a Test debut in Rajkot after being named in a 12-member shortlist on the eve of the opening Test against Windies. India, not known for revealing their 11 or 12 in the build-up to a Test, left out Mayank Agarwal, Hanuma Vihari and Mohammed Siraj from their 15-member squad.
Shaw had forced his way into the Indian Test squad in England for the final two Tests following impressive performances in the domestic circuit and with the India A. Despite replacing Murali Vijay in the touring party, he didn't get a game in England with India preferring the more experienced KL Rahul and Shikhar Dhawan over the teenager.
Dhawan's axing in the aftermath of the tour opened up one opening slot, which Shaw and Agarwal were picked to vie for.
Incidentally, in the just-concluded warm-up game against the touring Windies side, Shaw managed only 8 runs while Agarwal managed 90 for the Board President's XI.
Like Agarwal, Shaw has been on an extended run of good form over the past 24 months. The Mumbai batsman, who also led the India U19 squad to the world titleearlier this year, averages 56.72 in first-class cricket at a strike rate of 76.69. He scored a hundred on debut in Ranji Trophy and then became the youngest player to score a hundred on debut in Duleep Trophy.
Despite playing just four bowlers in the final Test in England, India will revert to a five-man bowling attack, forcing Vihari to warm the bench in spite of his impressive debut at The Oval. While Ravindra Jadeja, Ravichandran Ashwin, and Mohammed Shami are expected to be certain starters, India will decide between playing an extra seamer [Shardul Thakur] or an extra spinner [Kuldeep Yadav] depending on the playing conditions.
India's 12-member shortlist: Virat Kohli (c), KL Rahul, Prithvi Shaw, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane, Rishabh Pant (wk), Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammed Shami, Umesh Yadav and Shardul Thakur.