Delhi clears bill to split Kashmir


The Jammu and Kashmir Reorganisation Bill, which splits the state into two Union Territories, sailed through the Lok Sabha on Tuesday, with some of the opposition parties walking out. 370 Lok Sabha members voted in favour of the bill and 70 voted against it. The government had on Monday announced that special status to Jammu and Kashmir under Article 370 of the constitution has been removed by an order from President Ram Nath Kovind.
Home Minister Amit Shah said in the Lok Sabha on Tuesday that the decision to do so "was not a political move". Congress's Manish Tewari on Tuesday opposed the centre's Kashmir move saying: "For the first time we are witnessing a state being turned into a Union Territory."
The state of Jammu and Kashmir is under a lockdown and former chief ministers - Omar Abdullah and Mehbooba Mufti - were arrested on Monday soon after the two resolutions cleared Rajya Sabha.
National Security Advisor Ajit Doval and Home Secretary Rajiv Gauba are in Jammu and Kashmir on Tuesday to oversee the security measures.