EC sends 7 politicians' affidavit to ACC


The Election Commission (EC) is likely to send affidavits of seven former and incumbent parliament members and ministers to the Anti-Corruption Commission (ACC) in the current week as per requirement of the anti-graft body for investigations.
An officer of the EC wishing anonymity told The New Nation on Sunday that the EC was taking preparation to send the affidavits of the lawmakers submitted by them during the 9th and 10th parliamentary polls.  ACC Assistant Director Masudur Rahman served a letter to the EC asking photocopies of the affidavits by January 27 as the documents, were required for investigation. The EC could not send the documents to the ACC within the deadline as it failed to collect those from the returning officers of the respective districts, where the MP and ministers had submitted their affidavits.  
The ACC asked the affidavits of former Health Minister Prof Dr A F M Ruhal Haque, former state minister for Housing and Public Works Abdul Mannan Khan, former state minister for Water Resources Mahbubur Rahman, Enamul Haque, former MP from Rajshahi Constituency-4, Abdul Zabbar, former MP from a Constituency of Satkhira, Abdur Rahman Bodi, MP from Chittagong Constituency-4 [Ukhia-Teknaf] and Aslamul Haque, MP from Dhaka Constituency-14. The ACC has recently assigned its seven officials to dig out whether former and incumbent  ruling party leaders amassed  wealth and properties  disproportionate to their known sources of incomes.  
The officials are Deputy Directors (DD) Mirza Zahidul Alam, Khairul Huda, Ahsan Ali, Nasiruddin, Syed Fayad Alam, Tahsinul Haque and Assistant Director Masudur Rahman.