India decimate Zimbabwe by 62 runs to win the match, series

By Agency

India won the second ODI against Zimbabwe by 62 runs and with that the series as the hosts' crumbled under pressure and were bowled out for 209 before India posted a formidable total of 271 for 8 at the end of 50 overs.
Chamu Chibhabha was the lone warrior from the Zimbabwean side as he scored 72 off 100 balls but Bhuvneshwar Kumar returning with figures of 4 for 33, who orchestrated India's victory, played spoilsport for the African Lions.
Earlier, after opting to bat first, Murali Vijay and Ajinkya Rahane scored solid fifties as India registered a challenging 271 for 8. Vijay's 95-ball-72 and Rahane's 63 off 83 balls to lay a foundation with an opening stand 112 in 26 overs.
Ambati Rayudu contributed with good 41 from 50 balls that included three boundaries. Manoj Tiwary (22) and Robin Uthappa (13) however missed another opportunity to impress as they fell cheaply. Tiwary threw away a good start, while liked of Uthappa and Stuart Binny (25) perished trying to up the ante in middle and later stages of the Indian innings.
Binny hit three boundaries in his 16-ball knock and it eventually led to India scoring in excess of 270. The Zimbabweans bowlers bowled to a good line and length and kept things tight for the Indian batsmen.
Medium pace bowler Neville Madziva was picked ahead of an injured Tinashe Panyangara and he didn't disappoint the selectors as he was the star performer for Zimbabwe, returning impressive figures of 4 for 47.
Chasing 272 runs to win, Zimbabwe could not establish a good partnership through their innings but opener Chamu Chibhabha scored a valiant half-century that gave the hosts some hope. But his wicket proved out to be a crucial one as Zimbabwe lost steam from there. Elton Chigumbura was dismissed for just nine. Sean Williams and Sikandar Raza too departed for 20 and 18 respectively as Indian bowlers kept on picking wickets at regular interval.
The 50-plus partnership between Graeme Cremer and Richmond Mutumbami for the seventh wicket came in too late as they were in no position to win this match from there on. Bhuvneshwar was pick of the Indian bowlers and picked up his 50th ODI wicket in the process as well.
Harbhajan Singh, Dhawal Kulkarni, Stuart Binny and Axar Patel too were very economical and did not give away any loose deliveries at all. They all picked up one wicket a piece.