Netherlands beat Ireland to reach final

By Agency

An inspired effort with bat and ball helped Netherlands pip Ireland by five wickets in the second semifinal of the ICC World Twenty20 Qualifier 2015 on Saturday (July 25).
It was Mudassar Bukhari, the right-arm medium pacer, who came to the fore after Peter Borren, his captain, elected to field at The Village in Malahide. Bukhari's match-winning spell of 4 for 28 in four overs kept Ireland to 128 all out in 19.5 overs. Borren then played a crucial hand in the chase, contributing an unbeaten 36 off 24 balls to see his team through as Netherlands made 129 for 5 in 18.1 overs.
Bukhari dented Ireland early, removing William Porterfield and Paul Stirling, the two Ireland openers, early. Porterfield was Bukhari's first victim, when the bowler had the Ireland captain caught off the very first ball he delivered. He then had Stirling caught for 18 at mid on in the next over.
Andy Balbirnie and Gary Wilson, the wicketkeeper batsman, partially rebuilt by putting on 44 for the third wicket before Paul van Meekeren entered the wickets column with the scalp of Balbirnie, who was caught behind. He had made a run-a-ball 31.
Kevin O'Brien joined Wilson and added 21 more, while making 33 quick runs himself. Roelof van der Merwe, the left-arm spinner, sent back Wilson with one ball remaining in the 15th over.