Dhaka Abahani defeat Sheikh Jamal in DPL Cricket


Sports Reporter :
Dhaka Abahani Limited defeated Sheikh Jamal Dhanmondi Club Limited by 10 wickets in their match of the Dhaka Premier League (DPL) Cricket at the Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium in the capital’s Mirpur on Thursday. It was Dhaka Abahani Limited’s 11th consecutive victory in their DPL campaign.

League leaders Dhaka Abahani Limited gained 22 points from 11 matches, while Sheikh Jamal Dhanmondi Club Limited earned 16 points from as many outings.

Chasing Shaikh Jamal Dhanmondi Club Limited’s paltry total of 88 from 22.4 overs, Dhaka Abahani Limited romped home making 91 for the loss of none using just 10.2 overs.

Openers Anamul Haque Bijoy and Mohammad Naim guided their team to reach the victory target scoring 91 runs in the unbroken opening stand.

Mohammad Naim remained unbeaten with 53 runs. He hit eight fours and two sixes in his 40-ball knock.

Anamul Haque remained unbeaten with 37 runs. His 22-ball innings was laced with three sixes and three fours.

Earlier, the batters of Sheikh Jamal Dhanmondi Club Limited failed to make any notable partnership against the tight, controlled and superb bowling attack of the bowlers of Dhaka Abahani Limited.


Left-arm pacer Shoriful Islam played the key role in wrecking Sheikh Jamal Dhanmondi Club Limited’s innings.

He captured four wickets in the space of 35 runs. Shoriful Islam was adjudged the Man of the Match for his outstanding bowling performance.

Tanvir Islam and Taskin Ahmed bagged two wickets each instead of seven and 16 runs respectively.

Mosaddek Hossain and Tanzim Hasan took one wicket each for five and 22 runs respectively.

Shykat Ali, Yasir Ali, Saif Hassan and Tabiur Rahman of Sheikh Jamal Dhanmondi Club Limited could reach double digit figures scoring 23, 17, 16 and 14 runs respectively.

Besides, Mr. Extra contributed 10 runs to the Sheikh Jamal Dhanmondi Club Limited total.