EC unveils schedule for 3rd phase of UP polls


Staff Reporter :
On Wednesday, April 17, the Election Commission (EC) divulged the timetable for the 3rd phase of upazila elections, set to take place in 112 upazila parishads on May 29.

EC Secretary Md Jahangir Alam made the announcement following a pivotal EC meeting presided over by Chief Election Commissioner Kazi Habibul Awal at Nirbachan Bhaban in the city.

According to the schedule, aspiring candidates must submit their nomination papers by May 2, while the scrutiny of these papers will occur on May 5. The deadline for withdrawal of candidature has been set for May 12.

Moreover, candidates have the opportunity to file appeals against the decisions of returning officers regarding the acceptance or rejection of nomination papers from May 6 to May 8. These appeals will be adjudicated upon between May 9 and May 11.


Symbol allocation to candidates will take place on May 13.

Remarkably, in 21 out of the 112 upazilas, voting will be conducted through electronic voting machines (EVMs) rather than traditional ballot papers during the third phase of the election.

This marks the sixth countrywide upazila election conducted by the EC, spanning four phases. The upcoming polls will encompass over 450 upazilas out of a total of 495 across the nation.

The commission had previously announced the first two phases of elections, with balloting scheduled for 150 upazilas on May 8 and 161 upazilas on May 21.