Historic Mujibnagar Day today

17 April 2021

The historic Mujibnagar Day will be observed today marking the oath-taking ceremony of country's first government on 17 April, 1971.
Following the Pakistan army's genocide on unarmed Bangalees on the black night of 25 March in 1971, senior leaders of Awami League assembled at Baidyanathtala in Meherpur on 17 April to
 form the provisional government of independent Bangladesh.
Baidyanathtala, mainly a mango orchard, was later named Mujibnagar after ceremonial formation of the provisional government of Bangladesh.
Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujibur Rahman was declared the first president of the People's Republic of Bangladesh, while Syed Nazrul Islam was appointed the acting president in the absence of Bangabandhu.
Tajuddin Ahmed was appointed as the first prime minister, while Khondoker Moshtaque Ahmed, captain M Mansur Ali and AHM Qamaruzzaman were named as cabinet members.
The interim government named general MAG Osmani as commander-in-chief of Mukti Bahini while appointed major general Abdur Rob as chief of staff.
The provisional government gave successful leadership to the War of Liberation for achieving victory on 16 December.
Newspapers will publish special supplements while Bangladesh Betar and Bangladesh Television and private TV channels will air different programmes highlighting significance of the day.

Add Rate