29 November 2018

Celebrities in fields to contest


Syed Shemul Parvez  :
11th parliamentary Election has become very festive and a burning issue to various celebrities of two major parties of the country. It is a very common phenomenon in every national election as some celebrities generally contest in the parliamentary election, but this time it has become very prime issue.
About 12 celebrities got green signals from the BNP and AL.
In BNP, this party issued nomination letters to actors Helal Khan in Sylhet and Shayla Aktar in Faridpur.
Singer Baby Naznin in Nilfamari, Kanak Chapa in Sirajganj, and Monir Khan in Jinaidha also got the party\'s blessing to run.
In AL, at least ten celebrities collected nomination forms from the ruling party to contest in the 11th parliamentary election. However, according to the latest developments, only six secured a nomination.
They are: national cricketing star and most popular figure Mashrafe Bin Mortaza, former football star Abdus Salam Murshedy, filmmaker Akbar Hossain Pathan Farooque, (its under consideration) veteran actor and present Cultural Affairs Minister Asaduzzaman Noor, singer and present MP Momtaz Begum, and former national cricket team    captain and present lawmaker Naimur Rahman Durjoy.
They collected their nomination letters from the Awami League central office on Bangabandhu Avenue, in the capital, last Sunday.
During this time, they expressed their hopes that under Sheikh Hasina\'s leadership, Awami League will again be elected and will keep working for the people of Bangladesh.
Bangladesh national cricket team\'s One Day International (ODI) Captain Mashrafe Bin Mortaza secured a nomination for Narail 2 constituency.
After getting the nomination, he shared his feelings with media by posting a status on social media,  \"I know it is easy to claim something but a challenge to execute. However, I will not take a backward step. I could have remained confined within my comfort zone. However, I dream that the people of my locality will progress towards prosperity, and that the light of development will shine over the people of Narail.
I want a prosperous Narail. No matter what it takes, I will be beside the inhabitants of my beloved Narail.\" I believe every responsible, deserving, and honest Bangladeshi citizen should join politics. Maybe they are not able to do so, because of fear and limitations. I fell it imperative to break that mental obstacle, Mashrafe added.
Besides, Asaduzzaman Noor was nominated for Nilphamari 2 constituency, Akbar Hossain Faruque received Awami League\'s nomination to contest for Dhaka 17 constituency, former star footballer Abdus Salam Murshedy for Khulna 4 constituency, famous singer, Momtaz Begum confirmed her nomination for Manikganj 2 constituency, former cricketer and Bangladesh Cricket Board Director Naimur Rahman Durjoy confirmed his nomination for manikganj-1 constituency.
However, it is noted that former star footballer and present Ministry of Youth and Sport\'s Deputy Minister Arif Khan Joy, State Minister for Post and Telecommunications Tarana Halim, actor Shakil Khan, actor Monowar Hossain Dipjol, actress Rokeya Prachy, actress Shomi Kaiser, actor Siddikur Rahman, Sammilita Sangskritik Jote President Golam Kuddus, film maker Masud Pathik, and lyricist Sujan Hajong were also in the nomination discussion race for but finally they were not nominated.