Tigers-Kiwis first T20I today


Sports Reporter :
Bangladesh Cricket team will take on New Zealand Cricket team in their first Twenty20 International (T20I) match at the McLean Park in Napier of New Zealand today.

The game will start at 12.10pm (Bangladesh Standard Time). Private satellite channel Nagorik TV and private satellite channel Green TV will telecast the match live.

Before today’s match, the Tigers and the Kiwis faced each other in 17 T20I matches. Of them, Bangladesh posted three victories, while New Zealand won in 14 occasions.

Last year Bangladesh won a Test match against the Black Caps in New Zealand.

Besides, the Tigers thrashed the Kiwis by nine wickets in the third ODI on December 23.

Pacers of Bangladesh played the key role to wrapped up New Zealand innings for a paltry total of 98.

Bangladesh never ever beat New Zealand in a single T20I in the soil of New Zealand.

The Tigers want to win against the Kiwis and want in New Zealand and want to make a record against the hosts.

Bangladesh Cricket team are now in a good rhythm this year.

The Tigers won three T20I series against their opponents.


Captain of Bangladesh Cricket team Najmul Hossain Shanto said, ” It is very important for us to play as a team.

I don’t want any extra success. We shall try to play with our exact strength. I think all of my teammates are prepared to do that.”

Shanto said, ” We have a good opportunity and we are eager to play this series.

We have a good preparation as a team.

Earlier, some of the players, who have been included in the T20I squad took part in their practice sessions.

I hope we shall present a better brand of cricket altogether.”

He said, ” The pacers will get advantage here. They will get extra facilities here.

But T20I game is a different format. I hope the pacers and the spinners will perform well for our team.”

Bangladesh squad : Najmul Hossain Shanto (Captain), Litton Das, Rony Talukdar, Tawhid Hridoy, Shamim Hossain, Afif Hossain, Soumya Sarkar, Mehidy Hasan Miraz (Vice-Captain), Mahedi Hasan, Mustafizur Rahman, Shoriful Islam, Hasan Mahmud, Rishad Hossain, Tanvir Islam and Tanzim Hasan.

New Zealand squad: Mitchell Santner (Captain), Finn Allen, Mark Chapman, Jacob Duffy, Adam Milne, Daryl Mitchell, James Neesham, Glenn Phillips, Rachin Ravindra, Ben Sears, Tim Seifert, Ish Sodhi and Tim Southee.